Crazy Stat of the Week

No, I’m not creating weird things again, this is just something I casually glanced at when I was on FanGraphs late tonight working on my Hardball Times piece. Nick Punto has mainly played at 2B, SS, and 3B in his career, but the innings played at each position per year has rarely, if ever been equally divided at all three positions. Here are his innings played respectively at each spot in the field.

1772.2, 1775, 1788.1

3 Responses to “Crazy Stat of the Week”

  1. Josh Says:

    Of the three, what do you feel is his best position?

  2. Bender Says:

    I’m far from an expert, and i know *NOTHING* of his stats, but I think I like him at 3B

  3. Andrew Says:

    I’m a huge believer in UZR, and for 2B, SS, and 3B, Punto has ratings of 5.2, 23.5, and 25.4, respectively. So, he’s slightly above average at 2B and amazing at SS and 3B, although at 3B he was aided by two very good seasons. At least at SS, he’s been more consistent year-to-year in his ratings. There’s no doubt that he makes great plays, especially when he plays in the middle infield, so I feel that he’s best at SS. However, the Twins have J.J. Hardy there now…

    Summary: By the numbers, I like Punto at SS most. In terms of flashiness, either SS or 2B. It’s not that I don’t like him at 3B, it’s just that I like him at the other two more.

Leave a Reply

