A Great Way To Kick Off The New Year…For Me, At Least

I’ve been a part of this football pool for about 5 years now, and rarely have I come close to winning the entire thing. Normally, my strategy was to look at records, points for/against, home/road records, etc. to decide who I should pick. But this year, I took a whole new approach. It was mindless, yet simple: Pick the winners straight off the Las Vegas lines. Only once did I stray from the prediction (which resulted in a correct pick for me), but otherwise, I technically had someone else making the decisions for me the entire time. Looks like I’ll employ this strategy again next season.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was consistently finishing near the top for every week, but couldn’t seem to win the weekly prize. I remained optimistic, thinking that I could approach this like a NASCAR driver. Finishing first in a race wasn’t the most important, I just had to be good enough each week, which would give me a good chance of being the champion at the end. Turns out, that’s exactly what happened.

As you can see, I only won two weeks for the entire season (tying this week with hrobrien). Yet with finishing high enough each week, I was tied for second overall with kgranmoe coming into Week 17, with only 2 points (1 win) behind PaulKuhlman. With the help of outscoring kgranmoe by 6 points and PaulKuhlman by 10, I took first place all by myself. Top three places win a cash prize, but I do not know if this is for the top three people period (which would cheat either ChrisBakeman* or PaulKuhlman) or for the top three places, so I imagine the top 5 people on the list will win some cash, with kgranmoe and blepsch splitting the 2nd place money and ChrisBakeman and PaulKuhlman splitting the 3rd place money. One thing’s for sure…I can’t wait to do this again next year.

* Chris is the “administrator” for this pool, by the way. I don’t know why this is significant to mention, however.

Notes:

  • 2 points for a win, 1 point for a tie, 0 points for a loss.
  • Tiebreakers were guessing a number as close as possible to the total points scored in the final game of the week. Week 17 was the only time two people tied for first. I picked 35 points, hrobrien picked 39, and the actual was 37.
  • The 0 for Justice22 in Week 8 was from failing to send in the picks, not from getting every game wrong.
  • The pink squares for JREVELING in Week 10 and ebgslpfootball (my younger brother, if anyone cares) in Week 10 and 13 are for picks that were sent in after the deadline (both weeks with Thursday night games, deadline is kickoff of first game in the week).
Leave a Reply

