Span’s Cry

Disclaimer: 1

I recall a single Twins game that I was at this past season where I had lower level tickets. I don’t remember the opponent or who won, but rather a single incident in the game. You see, Denard Span was standing on 2nd base, eager to come home and score. However, he knew that Orlando Cabrera, the #2 hitter, would not succeed in achieving such a goal, so during the entire Cabrera at-bat (he fouled off 10 pitches or something), you could hear Span singing a little song from the infield to the tune of Semisonic’s “Closing Time.”

It’s a rather simple rendition, but you have to forgive the man, he was trying to score a run, you know. So here you go, the never-before-seen lyrics of…

Denard Span, “Scoring Time”

Scoring time
Swing away, you are the best catcher born into this world
Scoring time
Hitting a home run with him is in the dream of every girl
Scoring time
One last call for a fastball so finish your slide-step, then clear
Scoring time
Really wanna go home so I can’t stay here

I know who I want to hit me home
I know who I want to hit me home
I know who I want to hit me home
Hit me home

Scoring time
Time for you to run out to the bases where I just came from
Scoring time
Should be careful running ’cause I nearly choked on bubble gum
So gather up your ribbies, move me to the exit
I hope Ullger’s sign says send
Scoring time
Every new big inning comes from some other big inning’s end, yeah

I know who I want to hit me home
I know who I want to hit me home
I know who I want to hit me home
Hit me home

Scoring time
Time for you to run out to the bases where I just came from

I know who I want to hit me home
I know who I want to hit me home
I know who I want to hit me home
Hit me home

Scoring time
Every new big inning comes from some other big inning’s end
Leave a Reply

