Notepad Scribbles, 11/12/09

I’m a bit interested in changing the look of this blog sometime soon, because although this current look is very simple, I feel that it’s too plain. Either that, or I’m going to find a new picture (something with more color than black and newspaper gray) with the departure of Carlos Gomez, but it’s tough for a picture to look good when it’s cropped or expanded to 2 1/4 inches tall and almost 8 1/2 inches wide. If you have any suggestions, leave them in the comments section and I’ll consider it.

Thanks to Topper Anton for mentioning Off The Mark* on Fanatic Jack’s podcast yesterday, and also to older brother of my girlfriend and frequent commenter, Josh for telling me that I was mentioned. I’m glad to see someone is taking interest in this blog that isn’t myself or one of my friends. Actually, I’m just happy to see that I’m consistently getting over 20 hits per day. Now to see if I can get onto the podcast. Also, I’ve added Fanatic Jack’s blog to the blogroll.

* More specifically, “Andrew Bryz-Gornia.” When I heard my name on the podcast, my first thought was not “There I am!” or “Sweet!” It was “Holy shit,** he pronounced my name correctly!” How sad is that? About as sad as realizing seconds later “Oh wait…I explained how to pronounce ‘Bryz’ in my ‘About Me’ page…”

** I know I said originally that I would link to the Disclaimer for explicit language, but it’s happened so little that I don’t feel that it will be an issue. I’ve updated the Disclaimer that basically repeats exactly what I just said.

If you saw Aaron Gleeman’s last Link-O-Rama, you probably watched this video of Christopher Walken reading the lyrics of Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face.”

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but the lyrics almost sound poetic with Walken reading them. Well, at least up until the “Oh! Oh! Oh oh ohhhhh!” Then it just becomes hilarious.

I recommend reading this Joe Posnanski piece on how ridiculous the Gold Glove voting can be.* However, the article is not my point. Rather, it’s that I was disappointed to see that the comment section, which normally is full of smart, level-headed people (even when they disagree) had a person in particular start blasting people that cite UZR as being “stat geek morons” and that all of us haven’t played baseball since Little League (#40 if you want to read the comment). It caused me to go off on a rant (#63) that now I’m not particularly proud of (#64), but I felt it was necessary to let the guy know that there was at least one person (actually I was second) that didn’t fit this stereotype that he just created.** Anyways, I already know that comment sections like on YouTube or FOX Sports are usually heavy with people that are rude, fearless and don’t care what anyone thinks about their opinions, but it was just a bit disappointing to see one of those people leave a comment on Poz’s site where both he and his readers almost always remain calm and friendly.

* I’m sure if you read 4 blogs in the past 2 days, you’re already sick of hearing about how bad the GG voting system is. Therefore, I refuse to comment on the voting.

** I feel that I affiliate better with nerds anyway.

I would like to do a post on the differences between the people that love using sabermetrics and those that stick to the more conventional stats. The only issue I see right now is that it might either be VERY long or will take several days to fully understand my own opinions about the topic.

I can’t remember where, but in a comment section someone suggested that the Twins should trade for Adrian Gonzalez because of his team friendly contract.* Uh…where does he play? First? Nope, filled by Justin Morneau. DH? Nope, Jason Kubel is there and I feel that Delmon Young should join him.** Bench? Don’t even think about it. So unless the Twins were willing to create an opening by giving up Morneau or Kubel, there’s no way that the Twins would ever consider acquiring Gonzalez. I would like to have him and it makes sense if you’re building a fantasy team, but the Twins would not get him.

* Another reason I don’t like reading comment sections. People start suggesting signings/trades that don’t make sense, just because the name is familiar or the player is good or perceived to be good when the player is not needed by the team.

** Spoiler alert for my next post!

Sorry for all the Pozterisks. I got stuck between putting all my additional thoughts in either parentheses or Pozterisks, so I went with the latter. It’s never been diagnosed, but I’m pretty sure I have ADD, and that’s not a joke.

2 Responses to “Notepad Scribbles, 11/12/09”

  1. Andy Says:

    Maybe there’s a picture of Target field that would fit somewhat well with your headline dimensions. I’m sure you’ve probably already tried that, but I thought I’d mention it.

Leave a Reply

