Someone Is Wrong On The Internet

Sums up my day so far, and it’s only 4 pm as I type this.

Edit: Considering this post was finished at 10:30 pm, it gives you an idea of the type of ADD I can have while typing blog posts.

The day for me started when I linked to an article on Twitter about a 17-year old boy that had caught three home run balls at Camden Yards in three consecutive games. I made a quick snarky comment about how the article was immortalizing a ball hawk (a person that goes to baseball games with the sole intention of catching as many baseballs as possible), a type of fan that really annoys me at baseball games. Maija of Kirby’s Left Eye retorted that he was only 17 years old. This led to a nice back-and-forth between us for… an hour? Neither of us budged, and I think all we accomplished was entertaining Derek James while he was waiting to deal with the IRS (at least I think it was the IRS).

My second experience is in relation to the Delmon Young trade from earlier today. Despite a solid 2010 season, he’s always been a disappointment here in Minnesota. He was touted as a good outfield prospect when he was acquired with Brendan Harris and Jason Pridie for Matt Garza, Jason Bartlett, and Eduardo Morlan, but the trade has been lopsided for a long time. Before this blog and Twitter, I told some of my friends he was the worst .300 hitter I had ever seen after his 2008 season (.290/.336/.405), mainly because it felt like most of his hits were groundball singles between the pitcher’s mound and shortstop.

Nevertheless, while most of us have bemoaned his very existence in a Twins uniform for years now, many fans were still disappointed when news broke that Delmon was going to the Tigers. For some, it was the fact that the Twins were “giving up” on him. Everyone else was upset with the players coming back. The first, Cole Nelson, has a 4.87 ERA in Single-A this year, his first full year in the minor leagues. However, he’s recently converted to relieving, and the big thing is that he’s reined in his control. Perhaps he’ll be useful, but he’s young (only 22 years old) and it will take time to figure out how he turns out. Same is true for the PTBNL.

This leads me to the second Internet argument I’ve had today.

A couple Twins ushers were among the people upset to see Delmon go. Very counter to how The Common Man felt:

What is this burden that I feel suddenly lifted? It weighs about 235 pounds and corners around the OF like a Mack Truck… #Twins

I’ll leave out the boring parts, but a spoiler is contained in one of my tweets from earlier today.

UH OH, I’M ABOUT TO DROP SOME SABERMETRICS ON SOME TWINS USHERS.

On our private Twins ushers Facebook group, the gist is that other Twins usher argued that Delmon is good based on his 112 RBI in 2010. I argued back that RBI is dependent on your teammates, not just your own abilities. Another person jumps in, saying Delmon got more RBI in 2010 than Cuddyer in 2006, and Delmon had worse hitters in front of him (actually a good point, but still not really fair to compare 2 different players from 2 different seasons). First usher said that while RBI may be luck-dependent, batting average was not. I taught some ushers about BABIP, then said I was done with the argument and that it could be continued via Facebook private messages. The argument did not continue. I consider myself the winner.

Well duh, I’d consider myself the winner. But what made my day was getting an email from my Twins boss, telling me that I made some good points and that he agreed with me. I may stay with this team for life.

3 Responses to “Someone Is Wrong On The Internet”

  1. Notepad Scribbles, 8/16/11 « Off The Mark Says:

    […] Off The Mark « Someone Is Wrong On The Internet […]

  2. superdoc.com Says:

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert
    that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway
    I will be subscribing to your augment and even I
    achievement you access consistently fast.

  3. Https://Facebook.Com/The.Geoff.Mckay/Posts/1532541903649478 Says:

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always interesting to read through content from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

