Notepad Scribbles, 3/4/11

Well, we are only 4 weeks away from Opening Day, and 5 from the home opener. I’ve been debating whether I should work the home opener (since I did last year and personally I’d find it fun to start a tradition) but that would require me missing my class. Normally, I’d be fine with that, but I am already potentially going to miss 2 additional Fridays this semester. Oh well, I still have a couple weeks to decide.

Jersey Numbers

There hasn’t been an official press release, but by checking regularly, I’ve been able to figure out some of the jersey numbers for players recently added to the 40-man roster. I have this roster located on the main page if you scroll down and look on the right column, along with all the non-roster invitees. Jersey numbers are included in those sections, but I’ll also provide the newest ones here.

Note: These do not necessarily mean the player would wear that jersey in the major leagues, these are currently just for spring training. Unless Joe Benson is a huge football fan, I don’t see why he’d wear such a large number.

58 Scott Diamond

88 Eric Hacker

37 Jim Hoey

56 Dusty Hughes

1 Tsuyoshi Nishioka (Because people keep asking, even though we’ve known since his first press conference)

83 Chris Parmelee

87 Joe Benson

11 Ben Revere (Switching from 37 because of Jim Hoey. Also, thanks to Seth Stohs for asking Revere via Twitter)

61 Rene Tosoni

I don’t know, maybe this can be helpful for you if you’re down at spring training, like I hopefully will be in a week.

Get Jim Thome Some New AB Music

If you were on Twitter around 3 pm and follow the Minnesota Twins account, you saw that they had their new music director Dan Edwards answering some questions for fans. Additionally, if you follow me on Twitter, you’d have seen that I’m pushing for Jim Thome’s AB music to be the intro to Carl Orff’s “O Fortuna.”

Note: The song is not actually originally from Lord of the Rings.

Certainly would be more exciting than the inaudible music Michael Cuddyer and whomever else gave him last year.

Also, I asked Edwards and the Twins account how they felt about the GB Leighton song. They kind of dodged the question, but I didn’t really care. I was asking more for everyone else than myself. Honestly, I didn’t like the song that much, but I feel like it got way more crap than it deserved, and “Don’t Call Them Twinkies” is conversely getting a little more support than it should.

Change to Student Night Tickets

If you had bought a Student Night ticket when the Twins were still in the Metrodome, you received a general admission ticket and were allowed to sit wherever you wanted in the outfield upper deck. When they moved to Target Field last year, many fans assumed this was the same and sat wherever they wanted, or ignored/didn’t know the meaning of “Standing Room Only” and took the first open seat(s) they could find.

I just found out at my training session yesterday that the ticket office will now only sell Standing Room Only tickets to those that produce a student ID on Student Night. Overall this should reduce the problems we had last year, but assuming I hang out in the right field grandstand again this season – I’m actually requesting it – I’ll have to still shoo the college crowd out of the seats.

Oh, and Nick Nelson, the ticket office has been notified that you graduated from college years ago, so they will no longer accept your student ID. Sorry.

One Response to “Notepad Scribbles, 3/4/11”

  1. toms shoes Says:

    Yup, you are correct Google is the best for blogging, Google webpage Notepad Scribbles, 3/4/11 | Off The Mark as well come quickly in search engines too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

