Improving Target Field

If you’ve checked anything Twins-related yesterday, you’d know that the Twins announced some changes to Target Field for the 2011 season. The main things I’ve seen are:

1. Adding WiFi

This doesn’t affect me much, as my phone works just fine in Target Field and I don’t need to use a laptop, but I guess this was something that people wanted.

2. A little more variety of food

Apparently this means more Kramarczuk’s, Murray’s, and Loon Cafe stuff, so I’ll have even more to add to my list of food to try, which is actually far more than you may think for someone that worked the entire summer there.

3. Better customer service at concession stands

Perhaps more training videos for the concession workers? Most of the people I saw were really nice, but they were also generally middle-aged people recruited from area churches. I did have a few complaints about concession workers during the season, so I guess this is a legit thing that needed improvement.

Also, it appears that this will be to cut down wait times at concession stands. Honestly, I feel that one of the easiest changes would be to avoid making everything fresh after you order it. Freshness is nice, but I really wouldn’t care if my Murray’s steak sandwich had been sitting under a heat lamp for half an hour.

4. More Kasota limestone to the facing of the Metropolitan Club

How exactly am I supposed to have an opinion about this?

5. A new bronze statue

Best quote I’ve seen so far related to these Target Field changes: “How about a statue of Kirby Puckett that actually looks like Kirby Puckett?

I just hope the statue isn’t of myself, mid-fall after being hit by that batting practice baseball.

6. More radiant heat to the terrace level and outfield seating area.

I wouldn’t recommend relying on the radiant heat, however. If you think it will be chilly, still bring your jacket.

Finally, the two coolest additions to Target Field…

7. A “Twins Tower” behind Section 240 in right field.

Although videos can be played with this tower, it will mostly be used to display the time and messages.

8. A video board in right field behind Sections 239-240.

This will be about 1/4 the size of the video board in left field, but it will still be about 3 times larger than the video boards in the Metrodome.

These changes should be completed in March 2011, and the combined cost should be around $4-6 million, according to Twins officials. I’ve already seen one person express their concern that this may cut into the money available for payroll, and well, I don’t think it will significantly affect how much the Twins spend in free agency this offseason. What I will say is a repeat of something I’ve said multiple times before, and at least once here at OTM:

The Twins need to put their Target Field profit into increasing payroll

Honestly, I’m sick of hearing this suggestion. Simply put, we don’t know that the Twins are going to put this profit into the payroll. Working at Target Field for over 40 games, I was able to see many improvements made throughout the season. Clearly, money was needed for those changes, and I’m willing to argue that some of the Target Field profit was used. I may end up looking like a fool by the time March comes around, but until I’m proven wrong, I feel that it’s irresponsible to believe that the payroll will be significantly higher than it was for the 2010 season.

Target Field profit is most likely going to pay for these changes, and we’re just going to have to deal with it. Even if the profit wasn’t going to these improvements, it would still go somewhere else, and not necessarily payroll. If I were you, I wouldn’t make a big deal out of it. Our ballpark is now considered one of the best in the nation, and it’s only going to get better. Let’s be happy with what we’ve got.

One Response to “Improving Target Field”

  1. JimCrikket Says:

    “Let’s be happy with what we’ve got”???? What kind of a Twins fan are you!? You can’t possibly be a REAL Twins fan if you don’t regularly (a) call the Pohlads cheap, (b) call for Ron Gardenhire to be fired, (c) call Joe Mauer and/or Justin Morneau wussies (or worse), or (d) whine about taxpayer money being used to help build Target Field.

    In other words, if you can’t whine about something, don’t say anything at all! #sarcasm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

