AL Central Preview – Kansas City Royals

Disclaimer (since K-Bro loves seeing this link)

With the season about to start, we begin to be bombarded by multiple opinions of how the standings will look by the end of the season. Well, that’s far too common for my tastes, so I’ve decided to take another route. Doing what I occasionally do best, I will present to you my idea of how the AL Central will look at the end of the season in the format of song parodies. However, forget about me telling you everything you need to know other than where they’ll finish…I’ll let the teams themselves tell you how they feel about this year! The order will go from worst to best, so as you can assume, this post will be focusing on my prediction for who will finish 5th in the AL Central this year…the Kansas City Royals. Their song will be sung to Fergie’s “Big Girls Don’t Cry.” Let’s see if Rick Ankiel, Jason Kendall, and Co. have what it takes to truly back up the belief that they had the GREATEST OFFSEASON EVER.

The Royal Treatment, “This Year We’ll Try”

La da da da

The smell of pine tar lingers on us now
You’re probably thinking we’ll lose the Central crown
We need some support and trust in our Process, baby
A good idea that’s with sincerity
Ease and clarity

I hope you know, I hope you know
That this whole season is great with you
It’s personal, we’ll work all nigh’
Knock the constant losing out of you
You’re not gonna miss it like Zack Greinke misses his blanket
But he’s got to get a move on with his life
It’s time to win the Central now
And this year we’ll try
We’ll try, we’ll try, we’ll try

Our path has no walking
We don’t go alone
We must take the baby steps ’til we’re full grown, full grown
Fairytales don’t always have a happy ending, do they
But we foresee an exception, if you stay

I hope you know, I hope you know
That this whole season is great with you
It’s personal, we’ll work all nigh’
Knock the constant losing out of you
You’re not gonna miss it like Zack Greinke misses his blanket
But he’s got to get a move on with his life
It’s time to win the Central now
And this year we’ll try

As the little market, it can be hard
We’ll fight it with some Glass shards
We’ll be the best team and you’re just fine, and you’ll whine
Yes, you can follow us if you want to
‘Cause you want Rick as yours, too
Here’s my players and Process and keep my secret furled
But it’s time for us to go roam
We’re getting great, see inside
We need to show off ourselves, front, center, parity
Ease and clarity, yeah

I hope you know, I hope you know
That this whole season is great with you
It’s personal, we’ll work all nigh’
Knock the constant losing out of you
You’re not gonna miss it like Zack Greinke misses his blanket
But he’s got to get a move on with his life
It’s time to win the Central now
And this year we’ll try
We’ll try, we’ll try, we’ll try

La da da da
2 Responses to “AL Central Preview – Kansas City Royals”

  1. k-bro Says:

    OMG Andrew! You are a brilliant, brilliant mind! This is totally fantastic.

    I’m willing to bet you never want to hear this song again.

    Oh, and I love how the disclaimer link became all about me. It’s all good.

    • Andrew Says:

      I am SO sick of this song. Can I slay it now?

      I thought you would like the personal message with my disclaimer, lol…and thank you for the compliment :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

