Smith’s Patience

I apologize for yet another song so shortly after the previous one, but this offseason has been rather slow for Twins fans. Jack Steal from Fanatic Jack Talks Twins is clearly frustrated by the lack of activity, when it feels like every other team around the Twins is working to improve their own teams. He’s drawing the ire from other people due to his impatience, but it’s hard to remain patient when there are several holes to fill and Bill Smith doesn’t seem to show any concern about filling any of those. Hell, a Joe Mauer contract extension is probably what everyone wants, but as far as we know, the Twins and Mauer aren’t even discussing it at the moment. So, while I do not have a funny yet bogus story as a background to this song (because the story is practically entirely truthful), I do have a song anyway. To Audioslave’s “Like A Stone,” I give you a song about Bill Smith and sitting tight until Spring Training:

Bill Smith, “By The Phone”

On a lazy afternoon of a day full of dreariness
By a freeway, my office, I have sat here for ages
Take your time, I can stay, waiting for the ringing phone
And if you’re good, we’ll lay to rest the charades of this show
My clubhouse, you long to be
Day by day, patiently
I wait for you here, by the phone
I wait for you here, come home
And in my desk chair, I will scoff at the Yanks and the Angels
Like a wise man, to anyone that will hear me ’til seven
In a place, your agent, pitched for me to sign you so
My infield’s filled, the lineup’s set, but I stalled him ’til dawn
My clubhouse, you long to be
Week by week, patiently
I wait for you here, by the phone
I wait for you here, come home, come home
And on I wait, even when days have gone
And I sit here composed, got ’til spring to be wrong
For all that I rest, waiting for so long
Take my offer or you should move on, go on
My clubhouse, you long to be
Month by month, patiently
I wait for you here, by the phone
I wait for you here, come home, come home
3 Responses to “Smith’s Patience”

  1. Jacob Ross Says:

    Aw, this was a really quality post. In theory I’d like to write like this too – taking time and real effort to make a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and never seem to get something done.

  2. Vanessa Says:

    This web site truly has all the information and facts I wanted about this
    subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

