Konishi’s Lament

Disclaimer: 1

After many people clicked on their links stating that Joe Mauer had won the AL MVP and read through the subsequent article, they noticed a peculiar anomaly. Mauer had only received 27 of a possible 28 first place votes! After some research or scouring the Internet, it was soon determined that the rogue voter was Keizo Konishi of Kyodo News in Seattle. Upon learning of this, I personally emailed him and (probably because my email wasn’t hate-laced) got a response back from him admitting that he regretted giving his 1st place vote to Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers instead. With the email, he attached a file of himself singing an apology for his vote to the tune of Kelly Clarkson’s “Since U Been Gone.” If you don’t know the song, use this as a reference, and then listen a second time and follow along with Konishi’s lyrics. Here is the translated version:

Keizo Konishi, “Guys, I Was Wrong”

Here’s the thing, I live in Japan
Cabrera’s my pick, it’s time to send
Yeah, yeah, guys, I was wrong
Mauer was great, but he missed some time
You found out quick which vote was mine
Yeah, yeah, guys, I was wrong

And all I ever hear you say
Is how you think my vote’s askew
Now this is all I have to say

But guys, I was wrong
Blew this vote on my first try
I wish you’d move on, yeah, yeah
Though Mauer won, you want a recount
Guys, I was wrong

How can I say it, this ain’t a con
Tough to focus ’cause Ichiro’s on
Yeah, yeah, guys, I was wrong

I wish I never heard you say
Protests that my choice was skewed
Wish you cared to hear me say

But guys, I was wrong
Blew this vote on my first try
I wish you’d move on, yeah, yeah
Though Mauer won, you want, you want a recount
Guys, I was wrong

I had my chance, I blew it
Lost insight, lost my mind
Take my vote, you can omit it
Again and again and again and again

Guys, I was wrong (Guys, I was wrong)
Blew this vote on my first try
I wish you’d move on, yeah, yeah
Though Mauer (Though Mauer)
Won, you want, you want a recount
Blew this vote on my first try
I wish you’d move on, yeah, yeah
Though Mauer (Though Mauer)
Won, you want (You want)
Yeah, I know (Yeah, I know)
That you want, you want a recount

Guys, I was wrong
Guys, I was wrong
Guys, I was wrong
4 Responses to “Konishi’s Lament”

  1. Eric B. B. Says:

    Bryz, this is pure gold! Fantastically funny.

  2. Doctor_Teh Says:

    Brilliant, I love it, well done!

  3. Andrew Says:

    Thank you very much!

  4. Season Preview: Minnesota Twins « Off The Mark Says:

    […] I had Weird Al Yankovic at my side to turn this into a real song. It’s even more awesome than Keizo Konishi’s apology to Joe Mauer. To Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody,” I give to […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

